Curriculum and Classes


At Ongar Primary School we have a broad and balanced curriculum enriched with enterprise opportunities and real life learning. Every topic studied has a fiction text linked to it in order to inspire and engage the children by bringing the topic to life.

The current National Curriculum was introduced in September 2014; it is a set of subjects and standards used by  primary schools. It prescribes what subjects are taught in school and the standards children should reach at the end of each Key Stage. The National Curriculum provides guidance of core knowledge around which teachers can develop lessons full of challenge, inspiration and real life learning to promote independent, respectful, high achievers. It reflects the school’s ethos and informs all aspects of school practice, from planning, to teaching strategies, assessment and differentiation.

All objectives covered in our school curriculum come from the national curriculum which can be accessed from the link below.

National Curriculum Framework

To view the curriculum your child will be following, click on the class below.

Donaldson - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18

Ahlberg - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18

Waddell - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18

Dahl - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18

Wilson - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18

Morpurgo - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18

Horowitz - Whole Year Curriculum Map 2017/18


Each of our classes are named after a famous author.  To view each class' termly curriculum map click on the links below.

EYFS - Donaldson, after Julia Donaldson who wrote the children's classic The Gruffalo

Year 1 - Ahlberg, after Allen Ahlberg author of Peek-a-Boo, Funnybones and Each Peach Pear Plum.

Year 2 - Waddell - after the author of Rosie's babies, Owl babies and Farmer Duck, Martin Waddell

Year 3 - Dahl, after Roald Dahl, who books have sold more the 250 million copies worldwide

Year 4 - Wilson, after multi award winning author Dame Jacqueline Wilson, whose books include the Tracy Beaker series, Hetty Feather and Double Act.

Year 5 - Morpurgo, after the Former Children's Laureate and author of War Horse, Michael Morpurgo.   

Year 6 - Horowitz, after the mystery and suspense writer Anthony Horowitz whose young adult book series include the Diamond Brothers, Alex Rider and The Power of Five.

Termly homework menu's are available for each class here.


Phonics and Reading Scheme for Key Stage 1

The schemes used throughout KS1 are